Harry Potter re-think

First off, I have to admit to a certain amount of prejudice and snobbery. I decided early on, after reading the first one for an assignment, that the books were simply just a rehash of a plethora of children’s novels and stories. The Rowling basically lifted ideas and transposed them on to a lost child style narrative. This, I was wrong. They are well written books, the characterisation is vivid and perfect. Apart from Dobby all the characters are perfectly crafted.

So the moral, don’t judge a series after one book. I doubt I will re-read them unless I have to read them to any future kids but they are enjoyable enough. Still the films aren’t very good and they changed things too much.

About poetryinstasis

I am a long haired, infrequent blogger and Literature enthusiast. I also watch an unhealthy amount of Football (Soccer) and am the rarest of things as I support my local team. "I paint myself because I am so often alone and because I am the subject I know the best" Frida Kahlo
This entry was posted in Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment