On The Eve of an American Election

On the eve of an American Election

Half the world is
Screaming in the dark
“Pick him, please, pick him”

Seemingly soundless as they
Go to the polls
In Kentucky and Arkansas

One feels like an
Ancient Briton must’ve done
When they changed Roman Emperors:

Powerless yet involved
Ignored yet a part
Screaming ceaseless in the dark

About poetryinstasis

I am a long haired, infrequent blogger and Literature enthusiast. I also watch an unhealthy amount of Football (Soccer) and am the rarest of things as I support my local team. "I paint myself because I am so often alone and because I am the subject I know the best" Frida Kahlo
This entry was posted in Literature, Poetry, Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On The Eve of an American Election

Leave a Reply

