New Pope, Infallibility and Kinsale

An Argentinian has been elected to the Papacy. Apparently, he came second in the last Papal Conclave. He seems like a nice enough bloke, you know, yeah he is going to be against all the things that a man in his 70’s who is a member of a conservative religion is going to be against. Like gay marriage and women’s rights. The last two Popes (John Paul II and Benedict XVI) have been conservative, will Francis be any different? Probably not.

Another issue I have spotted is that of Papal Infallibility – where the Pope speaks directly for God in a kind of “best buddies” deal. This is not the case for every Papal utterance. That would be mental. Every time the Pope wanted eggs it would have to be assumed that it is because God wants eggs and I doubt that a Supreme Being would eat breakfast. It refers to only specific moments when the Pope is talking about an issue of Dogma or “From the Chair”. Of course, it is a moot point as there isn’t a God to speak for. 

I went down to Kinsale this week, it is a little fishing town in Cork. I went to celebrate the wife’s birthday and spent most of it quite pissed. I would recommend that people go, eat at Man Friday and what have you. There you go a review of a whole town in a few paragraphs. 

Fuck Yeah.

About poetryinstasis

I am a long haired, infrequent blogger and Literature enthusiast. I also watch an unhealthy amount of Football (Soccer) and am the rarest of things as I support my local team. "I paint myself because I am so often alone and because I am the subject I know the best" Frida Kahlo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Pope, Infallibility and Kinsale

  1. Ashling Cranford says:

    I’m still bitter Bishop Len Brennan didn’t get the job. It’s a matter of who you know, not what you know. (Unless you know some real dirt on someone, that’s when you’re a shew-in.)

Leave a Reply

